Firestick + VPN

Want to know how to receive English Channels via the Internet in North Cyprus? Need to repair or buy a laptop?

Moderators: Soner, Dragon, PoshinDevon

JoandJelly
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

Firestick + VPN

•   Message 1 of 7 in Discussion

Post by JoandJelly »

I know there is lots of info on here regarding this subject but I am a complete novice having lived here 12 years and only ever had a digital TV package. I'm borrowing a friend's Firestick to decide whether to buy my own and have a couple of questions please.

I've got the firestick working with my TV and internet but if I try and watch something it says it's not available in my location. Is this because I need a VPN and if so which one do I get?

Thanks.

Chriswright03
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

Re: Firestick + VPN

•   Message 2 of 7 in Discussion

Post by Chriswright03 »

Yes. In the simplest of answers.

Problem being 'some' vpn's will not let you watch UK tv still as the TV companies have defeated the vpn. There are a number of them that still work and there have been threads on here recently where people have said which work. I can only tell you that ipvanish which isn't cheap doesn't!

For some time now I have been using Streamvia.com and it costs £4.99 a month and you can drop a month or so and start again as you only pay each month rather than up front for the year. With that I can watch all UK main channels WITH catchup. On the very odd occasion I have had a problem with any of them it has usually been something I have done but nevertheless the support from Streamvia has been friendly, fast and without exception solved the issue.

JoandJelly
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

•   Message 3 of 7 in Discussion

Post by JoandJelly »

Thank you for your help and advice, it's much appreciated.

Bert
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

•   Message 4 of 7 in Discussion

Post by Bert »